ROVworld Subsea Information

Nominations sought for prestigious Oceanology and Marine Science Awards
Date: Monday, December 10, 2007 @ 11:00:00 EST

Nominations sought for prestigious Oceanology and Marine Science Awards The pivotal role played by marine science and ocean technology is to be explored at the 2008 Oceanology International Conference (OI08), with the theme ‘Technology, Sustainability and the Oceans'. At the same time it will also ensure that individual achievements are suitably honoured.

The premier global forum for the marine science and ocean technology community and the largest meeting of its kind anywhere in the world, the OI08 conference and exhibition will be held 11-13 March at London's ExCeL. The Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology (IMarEST) and the Society for Underwater Technology (SUT) are tasked with organising all elements of the milestone conference and also organising four very special awards - the ‘OI Lifetime Achievement Award', the ‘Alan Greig Memorial Prize', the ‘Bob Barton Memorial Award'; and the ‘AMSI Business Person of the Year 2008 Award'.

"The ‘OI Lifetime Achievement Award' with its prize awarded by OI08 organisers, Reed Spearhead, is selected by a panel of international experts. "It really is an award that honours the lifetime achievements of someone who is acknowledged as an international expert in the field of oceanology and marine science," explains Dr Ralph Rayner, Vice President of IMarEST, a member of the SUT Council, and Chairman of Reed Spearhead Exhibition's Marine Division. "Past recipients have included Dr Sylvia Earle (oceanographer, explorer, author and lecturer); Dr Vincent Cardone (Oceanweather Inc); Prof Walter Munk (Scripps institute of Oceanography); and Prof Klaus Hasselmann (Max Planck Institute for Meteorology).

"We are eager to attract a record number of nominations and entries for the other three extremely prestigious awards, and entry/nomination forms have now been posted to the SUT, AMSI, IMarEST and OI08 websites" explains Ralph Rayner. "One award is made for an outstanding contribution to commercial operational oceanography, another is made to a young journalist, and the third award does exactly what it ‘says on the tin' and recognises the Business Person of the Year 2008."

The Alan Greig Memorial Prize

Alan Greig was probably the first ‘commercial' oceanographer in the UK. During his long career he worked for Imcos Marine, Hunting Surveys, Space Technology Systems and co founded InstallOcean Ltd. Alan sadly died in 2004. This prize was established in recognition of his outstanding contribution to commercial operational oceanography.

Commercial operational oceanography has grown to be a significant area of enterprise with companies offering a wide range of products and services to meet an ever increasing range of applications. For example, it is critical to the offshore oil & gas sector where drilling and production is taking place in ever deeper waters and in ever more hostile environments such as the Arctic.

In order to conduct these and other operations safely, economically and in an environmentally acceptable way it is crucial to be able to measure, understand and predict the ocean environment.

Many pioneering organisations have emerged to deliver commercial products and services geared to meeting the specific needs of those who operate in the marine environment.

The Alan Greig Memorial Prize is awarded to an individual who is judged to have made an outstanding contribution to the development of commercial operational oceanography. The inaugural 2006 prize was awarded to Ian Bellamy, Consultant

Oceanographer to Fugro GEOS. Entries will be assessed by a panel of industry experts chaired by the SUT.

The Bob Barton Memorial Award

The Bob Barton Memorial Award aims to recognise excellence in writing and reporting on marine science, engineering and technology. Established in 2006, the award was spearheaded by Ralph Rayner and Roger Scrivens as a tribute to marine technology journalist Bob Barton, who sadly passed away in 2003. Bob was well known in the industry for his direct and challenging style of journalism.

The award is granted, on a biennial basis, to a young journalist (under 35 years of age) who has, in the opinion of the selection committee, delivered the highest quality piece of print journalism in this field during the year 1 January-31 December 2007. The award comprises a fellowship to cover all travel, accommodation and subsistence to spend one week as a reporter at a world-class oceanographic institute outside of the country of residence. Dr Olive Heffernan, now climate change editor of ‘Nature', the recipient of the 2006 prize, was hosted by Scripps Institution of Oceanography at the University of San Diego in La Jolla, California. Entries will be assessed by a panel of industry experts chaired by the SUT.

The AMSI Business Person of the Year 2008

The UK marine science sector is a vibrant industry epitomised by enthusiastic and successful entrepreneurs with leading edge technology supported by world leading research institutions. The Society of Maritime Industries, through its constituent association the Association of Marine Scientific Industries (AMSI), has launched a new award to recognise individuals who have contributed most to the business of the marine science and technology sector in the UK.

Entries for the AMSI Business Person of the Year 2008 are welcome for anyone working in the UK marine science field who has made a significant contribution to business in the marine science and technology sector. A number of criteria could apply and nominees may have demonstrated business growth and success, innovative applications, novel approaches to employee relations, together with a wider support for the sector including impact on communities or causes through overcoming difficulties. Assessment will be made by a special panel from the Society of Maritime Industries and the IMarEST.

Closing dates

The closing date for both the Alan Greig and AMSI awards is 31 December 2007; and 14 January 2008 for the Bob Barton Memorial Award (to allow time for any articles published right at the end of the year). All the Awards will be presented during OI08.

The relevant forms can be found at;; and and obtained by email from

This article comes from ROVworld Subsea Information

The URL for this story is: